Our partner

Extreme IQ phobia accompanied by Paranoid tendencies

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: Snaga, catnaps

Extreme IQ phobia accompanied by Paranoid tendencies

Postby divergent94 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:30 am

First and foremost excuse me for my english since I am not a native speaker or a citizen of a primary English speaking country.I am a 22 year old student of History archaeology currently in his 5th year of studies,with dreams of future academic achievance hopefully to a PhD level...Also I am physically disabled and diagnosed with severe OCD in a span of 8 years ,from 4 psychiatrists until now and am currently on SSRIs and psychanalytic therapy.I recently developed a new phobia about my intelligence,as possibly measured by IQ tests,thing is this whole paranoid situation on my mind,and the perpetual mental chaos often make me think that I dont have the ability to talk to people(also have social anxiety(selfdiagnosed) ,and a infant-age psychological trauma because of the battery of operations I had to go through in order to kinaesthetically function near-normal).There are so many things I have considered that could possibly show a pattern on this whole problem I cannot even recount them here.I tried to study my late father's(died 6 months ago at age 55) emotional responses to anxiety and pressure,which were kind of deviant from what I supposedly conceive as normal functions(he indeed had paranoic tendencies)...Also I recently took the decision to try and re-evaluate myself considering the opinions of my secondary and high school classes(most of them said that I was pretty intelligent,just lacking organization and being lazy).My grades in both schooling institutions ranged from 17-20 (20 being the ceiling score grade),I wasnt an avid reader,my attention span was too short,and through every difficult exam my parents(both particularily intelligent people,in different ways) tried to organize