Our partner

Does My Mom Have Munchausen's Urgent***PleaseHelp

Munchausen by Proxy message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Does My Mom Have Munchausen's Urgent***PleaseHelp

Postby HealthyOne0809 » Thu Jan 15, 2015 2:16 am

This is Really, really tough for me to confront/write about, and b/c of a recent occurrence-I need help and cannot delay this any longer. This is my first time reaching out, I suppose that I should start my story from the beginning: I started getting "sick" at the age of two years old. This is when my mother first began to take me in to the hospital regularly, sometimes multiple times in a night. I was diagnosed, misdiagnosed, tested and re-tested until finally they landed on something to call it-which they found through a muscle biopsy at the age of 6. My symptoms were that of extreme vomiting, sweating, my body would emit a sort of toxic scent-likened to a "fishy odour" leading up to, and during my event of getting sick. I would become ill on the dot, every two months, waking up w symptoms of dizzy-ness that would come in waves, and vomiting. The doctors pinned me with Mitochondrial Myopathy at the age of 6 after running me through constant tests that would come back negative, or normal. Honestly, I have none of the symptoms for Mitochondrial Mypathy-and never have. No muscle pain or weakness, no wheelchair. I'm fine. This mysterious disease that I had was something that was attributed to the Mitochondrial Myopathy my entire life. I would get sick every two months, my mom would take me in, and they would pump me full of drugs on an I.V. Wash, rinse, repeat. They never questioned anything that my mom had to say. She was friends with the nurses, and bc the Mitochondrial Myopathy was so rare, and very little was known about it-the doctors would basically listen to her. It wasn't until I was twelve and one of the doctors on asked me how my head pain was on a scale of one to ten, and I responded fine, I don't have any head pain-t