Our partner

High functioning Dissociative sharing their recovery stories

Dissociative Identity Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: salted lipstick, Partial

High functioning Dissociative sharing their recovery stories

Postby Rosee » Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:31 am

I'm a high-functioning Dissociative. I have no plans to write a book but I would be happy to answer questions. I'm well aware that DIDs are all at different levels of awareness and healing and that our stories differ hugely so, keeping in mind that I'm an expert in nothing but my own life, I'm happy to share my own experience. It took about twenty years for me to be diagnosed with DID. I suspected MPD on and off since my early twenties but the thought scared the life out of me. Being finally diagnosed and learning more about DID, my life began to make a lot more sense. I don't see myself as a victim. I don't see myself with a disorder - this is just how I developed given the circumstances I was brought up in.
I am an expert in nothing but my own life. Image
Rosee
Consumer 3
Consumer 3

Local time: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:33 pm
Blog: View Blog (11)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: High functioning Dissociative sharing their recovery sto

Postby lifelongthing » Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:43 am

I'm a high-functioning Dissociative. I have no plans to write a book but I would be happy to answer questions.

Thank you so much, Rosee. I think my main questions are these:
* Can one get all alters to be (relatively) happy/okay without integration?
* How does time gaps affect your life as high-functioning?
* Any tips for working with DID (in a business I mean)?
* How do you schedule body-time when you have an entire, full life to take care of as well?
* How did you work to become high-functioning? I assume therapy, but were there other choices as well?
... But I'd love to just hear about how you arrange your life in general.