Our partner

New to all this, my husband has DID

Dissociative Identity Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: salted lipstick, Partial

New to all this, my husband has DID

Postby DIDWife » Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:22 pm

So my husband was diagnosed when he was about 13. He only has one alter, Billy. He never told anyone about his diagnosis until he told me, prior to our marrying. He absolutely hates talking about it, and since we never had any interaction with Billy, it was mostly out of sight out of mind. Recently, he got extremely drunk, and Billy took over. (forgive me if my terminology isn't proper, I have no experience with this) First of all, Billy hates being called that and prefers William (as in William Blake). He is extremely disturbed. He hates having been cooped up for nine years. He repeatedly took over throughout a few hour period. At times I could see my husband physically fighting him for control. While William was in control, he told me that the one I love was gone and was never coming back, he also threatened me with a knife. Every time my husband was back in control I tried to tell him what was happening, in hopes that being aware would help him stay in control and keep us both safe. Side note: My husband has had a very physically painful life, and William once threw him off a building as an attempt to "save" him form the pain. So he has a history of violence. Needless to say, this night was a terrifying experience for me. I could tell who was in control when, and William has a much more crazed appearance. I guess I was expecting an alter that I would be able to talk to/reason with, not what I actually met. I always thought that if he ever took control, I would be able to talk to him, and get to know why he felt my husband needed protecting, etc. But now I have no idea what to do. We've decided to quit drinking, but I have no idea what if anything will bring him back. My husband is a very strong personality, bu