Our partner

Unofficially diagnosed and dealing poorly

Depression message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: Snaga

Unofficially diagnosed and dealing poorly

Postby MaskedRiderFang » Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:22 am

I haven't been formally diagnosed but after nearly 7 months of feeling I finally decided to take online advice and have submitted to over 15 different depression tests online, with each one of them returning a result ranking somewhere in the severe category. I am a 23 year old college student that is currently unemployed and potentially impending homelessness, so I don't have the money to pay for a therapist. I'm hoping to find whatever help I can get on this site.

I'm a writer, a film and video game critic, and I used to love writing all sorts of reviews, articles, and opinion columns until I got laid off at my job last year. I used to write upwards of 1000 words per day for a readership that vocally loved my work. Now I feel like a washed up hack that can't even bring himself to write 400 words in a week. I was clean off of my ADD prescribed adderall for over 2 years and finally relapsed on my left overs just to be able to finish assignments, as my focus on anything, even the movies and video games that I used to be so passionate about, has dropped to almost zero. I'm only writing this message after having refreshed the homepage for about a day now.

I'm always so tired, achy and just bitter. 2 years ago I used to be able to pull all nighters in order to bang out 2 articles for my publication and blog, and still get my school work done during the day. Now I can barely move in the mornings, I barely muster up enough energy to go to classes, let alone keep up with their work load and every day is dull and lifeless.