Our partner

Relapse on cutting (trigger warning??)

Open discussions about Cutting and Self Injury. This forum may be triggering.

Moderators: Snaga, lilyfairy, weepingwillow

Relapse on cutting (trigger warning??)

Postby skeleton-countess » Wed Feb 11, 2015 5:58 pm

Hi there...I'm not new to psychforums but I am new to this subforum. I spend most of my time here in Paraphilias and my online journal. So I'm not sure if this post needs a trigger warning or not. Feel free to edit this post and add one if needed...

Anyway the reason I'm posting here is because recently (the past two weeks), I've fallen into another depressive episode and, for some reason, relapsed on cutting. I've had depression since 6th grade (age 11) but I hadn't cut since 8th grade (age 13). I'm 19 now, and while I still got cutting urges sometimes, I hadn't actually done it since middle school. I relapsed one morning last month, when I was suddenly extremely suicidal over some friend issues, but then didn't cut again until this past Saturday. Since then I've spent every day feeling extremely low, and every night, a huge wave of suicidal thoughts hits me and I end up cutting.

Originally after I first cut on Saturday night, I felt ashamed for doing it again after going so many years not cutting, but then the next day I accepted it and now I can't stop myself from doing it when I get an urge or access to a sharp object. Then once I start making the cut, it takes me at least 20 minutes to manage to stop and the pain doesn't deter me.

I feel like I'm losing control of this lately. I think I've been stressed out recently because I just made the transition in college to my nursing classes and I'm always afraid of failing. So, in a way, I feel like the only solution is killing myself to avoid failure.

I guess that's all I wanted to say. I don't know if I want solutions or advice or what, but I guess it feels better to post about this.
~ "Nothing happened to me...I happened." ~
skeleton-countess