Our partner

A troubling thought, your help is needed

CBT message board, open discussion, and online support group.

A troubling thought, your help is needed

Postby omrip31 » Sun Jan 25, 2015 6:05 am

Hi Everyone,
I have been practicing CBT for the last 10 years – with the help of several books from the great David Burns.
In the last couple of years I’ve been struggling with putting the lie to several thoughts which I just can’t seem to answer to.
The main thought that is troubling me is: “I am wasting my life in my job". This thought has been causing me a lot of pain and suffering.
The thing is, I hate my job. I am trying to look for a better one for myself, but the fact is, I still feel like I’m wasting my life while I am still working at it.
I tried many techniques: examine the evidence, feared phantasy technique, cost/benefit analysis and many more, but nothing helps.
Can someone here help me with this? Perhaps you have an idea to how I can disprove it?
Is it true that I’m wasting my life in my work (finding a job which I would like might take a lot of time, so I prefer not to suffer so much meanwhile…) ?

Thanks
omrip31
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:48 am
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Re: A troubling thought, your help is needed

Postby WiseMonkey » Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:50 am

If you hate your job than you are wasting your life. But if it's of any help or comfort, the vast majority of people are doing the same thing. So you are perfectly normal. Most of us are wasting our lives by doing things we hate because we have been brainwashed by the society into believing that we have to do them and also because very often the world gives us no other way to survive.

Those who resist this world order and try to make their life meaningful have a hard life because they are surrounded by the brainwashed sheep who follow the societal program.