Our partner

Psuedo Supportive Mother

Open Discussions About Child Abuse

Moderators: seabreezeblue, Terry E.

Forum rules
You are entering a forum that contains discussions of abuse, some of which are explicit in nature. The topics discussed may be triggering to some people. Please be aware of this before entering this forum.

Psuedo Supportive Mother

Postby LabrynthLynn » Sun Jan 15, 2017 12:14 am

I have realized that I live in a broken home since I graduated in 2014. I am now 20 and in college, but I live at home and am reliant on my mother for my basic needs.
I have a father who is an addict and its taken me a couple years or so to mentally and emotionally process his affect on me as a child. Now I accept the way he is and I keep him at a distance.
Recently Ive had anxiety when I go to school and have had dreams in relation to my mom where she discounts my feelings in serious situations such as my physical body dying and I am trying to save it, or I am trying to be rid of corpses but she calls me dramatic.
Ive also become more aware of her behavior recently when I request a change in routine/chores and she yells at me, throws accusations at me, and pushes me to the point of anger or sadness- then points at how unstable and unpleasant I am.
I have always relied on her to confide in and have believed the lie that she is a reliable and good mother.