Our partner

Looking Older/fear of getting old HELP PLEASE!

Body Dysmorphic Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: Bilbo Baggins

Looking Older/fear of getting old HELP PLEASE!

Postby HellsNotSoBad » Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:31 pm

Hey, I'm new to this sight and although I haven't been diagnosed with BDD I think I definitely may have it.
One of the MANY things I obsess over and fear is getting old and looking old. I am a 20 year old female and EVERYONE thinks I look older. People tell me all the time I look 23, 24, that I could pass for 25. My whole life I've been told I look older and it's ###$ with my head to such an insane degree that it has actually ruined my life. Because of this I actually think I look 30 at age 20 and obsess with my face. I sit in my room and look at my face in different lighting, I think i'm prematurely aging and I am becoming obsessed with putting sunscreen on. I compare pictures of myself from three years ago and I think I've aged tremendously! I feel like I'm aging at an abnormally fast pace. At the age of 20 I feel like an old hag and that I'm already past my prime.

Once I was at the drs office and my sister came in a few days before me who is 26. The receptionist got us confused and thought I was my sister, and when I told her I wasn't she asked who was older me or my sister. I literally felt sick to my stomache with hurt. My aunt even told us we looked the same age. I can't ######6 take this $#%^ anymore. It's driving me nuts. I'M 20 YEARS OLD. I should have that beautiful youthful look. My friend even said to me the other day that I didn't have a youthful look, that I had an adult look. By the pace I'm going i should look like the ######6 crept keeper by the time i'm 30!