Our partner

Do I need to tell my boss?

Bipolar Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: Otter

Do I need to tell my boss?

Postby turnaround » Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:59 pm

I should start by saying I'm a nurse and so, of course, is my boss. She knows her mental health stuff well. She was extremely supportive of me during my 4-month manic-induced absence last year.

My workplace is quick-fire, demanding and everything happens at once. These potential triggers used to wash off me with little more than a few muttered curses and a 5-minute bitching & biscuit session with colleagues. I love my job and I missed it when I was off.

But I'm concerned. Recently, I've noticed myself becoming more irritable and restless. I actually have vocal arguments with myself as to why I should go to bed because I am so awake that I just don't want to. Most days, the above-mentioned triggers have little effect but I think they're growing - there are too many stimuli coming at me. Afternoons I get can cranky but by evening I'm a mix of suppressed fury and "I don't neeeeeed to go home. You're all s*** at your jobs and I'll stay here for ever and ever mwahahaha and take over from you. F*** off! Come here and do what I say! I'm not doing this! Yes let's do this! Who needs to go home anyway? Wooohoooo!!"

You get the general picture? I don't actually say those things but they're simmering away. I'm certainly safe at work, I hasten to add. My problem is that this is how I was behaving at the start of August and that ended up in a 4-month rapid cycle, culminating (thankfully) in medication. Sleep wise, I'm running on 5hrs a night and then crashing for 12hrs which I did last night. I feel my mind, slowly but surely, is speeding up; payday is soon and I'm wondering about going abroad at random and to hell with the consequences.