Our partner

New and unsure.

Avoidant Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: lilyfairy

New and unsure.

Postby pawlove » Thu Sep 29, 2016 6:02 pm

I'm new here and thought I should say something.

I'm almost 23 years old, and I'm from Indonesia, and had been living here since birth. Currently I live alone, in a boarding house, far away from my parents and family. I work as a freelance artist/illustrator.

I'm actually not very sure if I'm just overly shy or if I have a problem. I always feel like I'm not normal, but not sure what is exactly it is. I had only recently learned about types of personality disorders and felt like I relate really strongly to the symptoms of AvPD or Social Phobia.

I'm kind of reluctant to say that because I don't want to be 'that person' who diagnosed themselves after a few google searches. I'm actually really scared as I type this, so please, if I'm a case of 'that person' maybe just let me know politely.

What makes me think I have a personality disorder is that I'm really terrified of social contact.. I might be able to describe this better from things I've experienced.

-I have very little friends. Currently there are only 2 person I dare to call friends, one very close and one not so much, but better than other people. I really hate making new friends, and when I get a bit closer to someone, I always try to stay on their good side. Never mentioning subjects they don't like, even though I want to talk about it. I'm afraid of making them feel uncomfortable and afraid if they don't want to talk to me anymore. Making friends is a really stressful effort for me, because I always think I need to always 'good' to them.