Our partner

Can a Avpd hold a job

Avoidant Personality Disorder message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderators: lilyfairy, RememberRonni

Can a Avpd hold a job

Postby butter blossom » Sun Jul 30, 2006 1:44 am

I have no luck finding a job. I guess it is because of my avpd tendencies.
butter blossom
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Local time: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:26 am
Blog: View Blog (0)

ADVERTISEMENT

Postby sweetngentle » Sun Jul 30, 2006 6:05 pm

I believe that a person with AvPd can hold down a job. It's not easy but it can be done.

I used to work as a church secretary and then recently I have worked as a home health care aid. I'm not saying it is easy, but I do believe it can be done. I worked at the church for5 years and then as a care giver for 2 years.

The only reason I'm not working now is because i had an extensive amount of surgery done to my hand. But give me a couple of weeks and I will be back.....hopefully :wink:

Take Care,
Sweetngentle
Blessed are those
who can give without
remembering, and take
without forgetting.
sweetngentle
Consumer 6
Consumer 6

Local time: Sun Oct 26, 2014 4:26 am

Postby slatey » Sun Jul 30, 2006 8:37 pm

Hi,

What kind of jobs were you applying for? I think if you were able to look for a job that isn't heavy on socializing, yet not completely isolate, you could use it to your advantage to practice your own sort of therapy.
slatey
Consumer 1
Consumer 1

Local time: Sun Oct 26, 2014 1:26 am

Postby butter blossom » Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:04 pm

I was applying for cashier jobs mostly.
butter blossom
Consumer 0
Consumer 0

Postby trents » Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:53 am

I work. I specifically chose a job that didn't require a lot of socializing. I prefer a very independent job. At the same time, it has gradually become more social with more employees and I have found it a great way to ease into more socializing.