Our partner

Boyfriend with Aspergers facing losing his job

Asperger's Syndrome message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: TDT

Boyfriend with Aspergers facing losing his job

Postby Alana675 » Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:12 pm

Good morning everyone, my name is Alana,
I need advice and just don't know what to do. Truth is there is nothing I can do and that makes it worse. My boyfriend, who has aspergers is facing the possibility of losing his job as a social worker. He was suspended because of a paperwork error on a patient, and pending investigation he may be terminated from employment. This isn't the first time, he tells me that he has lost a couple of jobs over difficulty getting paperwork in on time and keeping information organized. He is a brilliant man, so compassionate and wonderful with the patients and families. In the business world, that means alot but in th end it is about the profit and doing it right ( I am a nurse, we work for the same hospice ). He is terribly disorganized, and I have watched him struggle at the end of pay week to get his paperwork together and in on time. It is hard enough for the rest of us, so I can't imagine how it is for him. I hate seeing him so depressed and my heart is breaking for him. My fear is that they will terminate his employment and he will fall into a terrible depression and lose his faith in himself. He has a 4 year old daughter that he is supporting and already has low self esteem. Thankfully he has a therapist that he sees weekly and so far he has not shut me out, I worry what will happen if they let him go at work. My other fear is that this is a cycle that will continue, with detrimental results for his future both mentally and financially. I love him with all of my heart, and he and I fit so well together, he is not only my boyfriend but my very best friend. Unfortunatley, that side of him that I love so much, is that part of him that causes him so much turmoil. I wouldn't change a thing a