Our partner

Can I be a nurse with Aspergers?

Asperger's Syndrome message board, open discussion, and online support group.

Moderator: TDT

Can I be a nurse with Aspergers?

Postby Lyra » Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:01 am

Hello all,

I am new to the boards. I want to start off by saying that I am not "officially" diagnosed with having asperger's syndrome. It is just something that I feel could be a true possibility. I don't want to self diagnose, but at the same time I don't feel like I need a doctor to label me for what I have felt for so long.

I am currently a second semester nursing student (in hopes to become a psychiatric nurse!) On our last day of clinical we were required to meet with our lab instructor for a conference. I did pretty well with the conference - my ADPIES were excellent, I practiced safe technique in the hospital, etc. However, the one thing that she said to me is that I need to work with interacting with my peers (the other girls in my clinical group.) She said that I sort of just did my own thing and did not really interact with them. Yes, it's true. A part of the reason is that I simply cannot socially interact with them. While they discussed aspects of the course, they also talked about hair, clothes, other people, celebrities, etc. I wouldn't know how to chime in if I tried. I've asked group members questions when needed and I felt that I was friendly enough. I know how to interact with coworkers. I have a job and do just fine with communicating about work and what needs to be done. It's the extraneous chitchat that I can't and don't feel like I need to take part in in my clinical group.

My instructor even agreed that I did well with talking with the patients. Sometimes some of the skills we must learn in lab do not come easily to me. I've never worked in the health field before so it's all new to me. But, I attend almost every open lab in order to improve my skills.